My Biggest Complaint: Insufficient Editing

Discuss the August 2016 Book of the Month, The Lost Identity Casualties by Kim Ekemar.

You can use this forum to discuss the sequels to this book.

View The Lost Identity Casualties on Bookshelves

View The Lost Identity Casualties on Amazon.
Scott
Site Admin
Favorite Author: Eckhart Aurelius Hughes
Currently Reading: The Unbound Soul
Bookshelf Size: 340
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-scott.html
Reading Device: B00JG8GOWU
Publishing Contest Votes: 960
fav_author_id: 248825

My Biggest Complaint: Insufficient Editing

Post by Scott »

This is a discussion topic for the the August 2016 Book of the Month, The Lost Identity Casualties by Kim Ekemar.

I am not a professional editor. I am not a grammar expert. Moreover, I simply read the book as a reader not an editor. An editor being paid to edit will take very roughly speaking 10x as long to read a book as a regular reader. So even to a professional editor, any typos that stick out during a regular reading are probably only the tip of the iceberg. Even for a professional editor.

Even though I am not even a professional editor and was not taking the 10x as long as an editor would, I notice quite a few typos while reading. Here some of the ones I noticed:
page 20 wrote:Before that, our skills and my eight million francs had in three years allowed our company grow to be worth sixty million dollars.
page 54 wrote:Fooled the guards let me outside, yes, but where was I to go?
page 59 wrote:[...] the police now has collected additional proof.
page 59 wrote:"I don't think I get together more than half a million or maybe a million pounds overnight," I babbled.
page 61 wrote:[formatting issue with italics]
page 89 wrote:The logical step was to hire a domestic help.
page 89 wrote:How can I even think of getting rid of Andrew who anticipate my and Julia' needs before we ourselves are aware of them?