ARA Review by Mikomontgomery309 of In It Together

The ARA Review Exchange is a system in which authors review other authors' books, generlaly in exchange for getting their own book reviews by other authors. However, the person who reviews a author's book is not the same person whose book that author reviewed. This way, author reviews do not influence each other, such as by an author being inclined to reward a good review by deliving one in return or deliver a negative review as revenge.

Moderator: Official Reviewer Representatives

Forum rules
Authors and publishers are not able to post replies in the review topics.
Mikomontgomery309
Bookshelf Size: 0

ARA Review by Mikomontgomery309 of In It Together

Post by Mikomontgomery309 »

[Following is an OnlineBookClub.org ARA Review of the book, In It Together.]
Book Cover
5 out of 5 stars
Share This Review

I have a degree in Philosophy, and I’ve read numerous books on spirituality and self- help throughout my life. As a result, I’m somewhat jaded regarding such matters. I feel as if I’ve heard it all before. Still, I was curious about this book, so I sat down and read it with an open mind. This book is amazing.

It’s been said that humans are spiritual beings having a physical experience. I’ve always agreed with that sentiment. Perhaps that’s why this book resonates with me. According to Mr. Hughes, we have human bodies, but we’re not human. We don’t have a spirit. We are spirit. What we have is a body.

Mr. Hughes insists that we humans reflexively fight against things like distress and pain, but we also fight for something. And that something is spiritual fulfillment. There is a spiritual void within us that we seek to fill with fame, fortune, sex, drugs, rock and roll, etc. They are all poor substitutes which only serve to imprison us. Mr. Hughes brilliantly labels this prison a Hedonic Treadmill.