Official Interview: Tobin Marks

This forum features interviews with authors.

Hosted by kandscreeley.

Moderator: Special Discussion Leaders

kandscreeley
Special Discussion Leader
Currently Reading: Believarexic
Bookshelf Size: 486
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kandscreeley.html
Latest Review: The Elf Revelation by Jordan David

Official Interview: Tobin Marks

Post by kandscreeley »

Today's Chat with Sarah features Tobin Marks author of Ark of the Apocalypse.

To view the first official review, click here.

To view the second official review, click here.

To view the book on Amazon, click here.

1. What do you do when you aren't writing?

I am a drilling engineer by profession and spend literally half my life on some drilling rig in some far-flung corner of the world, usually on one ocean or another. Having said that, I'm presently working on land in Texas. Y'all...

2. Tell us about the person or people who influenced you to become a writer.

My two favorite authors are Bernad Cornwell and Joe Abercrombie. I love the way they write, and they have probably influenced my own writing more than anything.

3. Tell us about your very first attempt at writing.

I wrote poetry for fifteen years before I tried my hand at novels. However, at the beginning, I was bad. Really bad. In fact the editor I used opened his first Editor's Letter to me with the sentence: This book is not marketable. Translated meaning: it sucks. But I listened to him and learned and hopefully got a lot better.

4. Let's discuss your book Ark of the Apocalypse. What came first? The plot? The characters? A vision? A dream?